The Film Music Society FMS FEATURE ARTICLE...

September 15, 2004
Broughton, Bunch, Newman Win Emmys
Two "Firsts" Among Weekend Music Honors
by Jon Burlingame

Bruce Broughton
Velton Ray Bunch
Bruce Broughton extended his Emmy winning streak to nine over the weekend, as the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences presented statues in five music categories during the Creative Arts Award ceremonies at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

With his eighth win last year, Broughton became the most honored composer of original music in TV history. He again won in the category of Outstanding Music Composition for a Miniseries, Movie or Special for his music for Eloise at Christmastime. It was a holiday-themed sequel to the composer's previous winner, Eloise at the Plaza.

Broughton said that he was "really happy and surprised" by the win, especially gratifying because he had enjoyed both projects immensely. The TV-movie aired on ABC November 22, 2003. This was his 21st nomination; his first was 30 years ago, for an episode of Hawaii Five-0.

Also on Sunday, veteran composer Velton Ray Bunch received his first Emmy in the category of Outstanding Music Composition for a Series for the "Similitude" episode of Star Trek: Enterprise, which aired November 19, 2003.

He had previously been nominated in the 1992-93 season for an episode of Quantum Leap, and in the 2000-01 season for his music for the TV-movie Papa's Angels.

This was the 16th music nomination and fifth Emmy win for the Star Trek franchise. Dennis McCarthy has won twice, for an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation in the 1991-92 season and in the category of Main Title Theme Music for his Deep Space Nine theme in 1992-93. Jerry Goldsmith won for his Star Trek: Voyager theme in 1994-95, and Jay Chattaway won for a Voyager score in the 2000-01 season.

Randy Newman's new theme for Monk, the song "It's a Jungle Out There," won in the category of Main Title Theme Music, marking the first time since the category was instituted in 1988 that the same series has won for two different themes. Jeff Beal won last year for his original instrumental theme, which the producers dumped in favor of the Newman tune.

This was Newman's second Emmy win. He previously received the statue for a song he wrote for the pilot of the much-maligned Cop Rock in the 1990-91 season.

Other winners on Sunday included Harry Connick Jr. for Music Direction on his PBS special Harry Connick Jr.: "Only You" in Concert; and Toni Childs, David Ricketts and Eddie Free for their song "Because You Are Beautiful" for the Lifetime special Until the Violence Stops.

Highlights of the ceremony will be telecast at 8 p.m. Saturday, September 18, on the E! cable network.

© 2004 Jon Burlingame