The Film Music Society FMS FEATURE...

October 16, 2007
40th Annual ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards Announced
FMS director Marilee Bradford gets nod for notes on scorer Herbert Stothart

Marilee Bradford
NEW YORK, Oct. 15—Marilee Bradford, noted film music restoration producer (Ben-Hur, North by Northwest, The Wizard of Oz) and currently producing director of The Film Music Society, has been awarded a Deems Taylor Award for outstanding writing about music by the American Society of Composers, Authors & Publishers (ASCAP).

Bradford, one of several winners of the 40th annual competition for excellence in music-related biographical, critical, reportorial or historical writing, is being honored for her liner notes to the Film Score Monthly soundtrack album of Random Harvest (1942) and The Yearling (1946), both film scores composed by MGM Golden Age Oscar-winner Herbert Stothart (The Wizard of Oz, Mrs. Miniver, The Good Earth, Mutiny on the Bounty).

This marks a rare instance in which a Deems Taylor Award has been granted for liner notes on the subject of movie music. The awards, established in 1967, are named for distinguished author and music critic Deems Taylor (1885-1966), widely remembered as the on-screen narrator in Walt Disney's 1940 film Fantasia and as commentator for radio broadcasts of the New York Philharmonic and the Metropolitan Opera.
Deems Taylor

This year's award winners will be honored at a reception on December 13 in Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center, Broadway at 60th Street in New York City.

A complete list of winners can be found at