HomeNews Archive
About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Give Facebook
>Print this article  

September 12, 2005
Broughton Wins Record 10th Emmy
Elfman, Giacchino receive premier honors

Bruce Broughton won his tenth Emmy, while Danny Elfman and Michael Giacchino won their first such honors, as the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences presented its 2004–2005 Creative Arts Awards Sunday, Sept. 11 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

Broughton, who is already the most-awarded composer in Emmy history, received his statue in the category of "outstanding music composition for a miniseries, movie or special" for the music of the HBO TV-movie Warm Springs.

Elfman and Giacchino each received Emmys for music in two popular ABC dramas: Elfman for "outstanding main title theme music" for Desperate Housewives, Giacchino for "outstanding music composition for a series" for Lost.

Also honored Sunday were Michael Kosarin, for "outstanding music direction"; for producing and adapting Alan Menken's music for the underscore of NBC's A Christmas Carol; and songwriters Dan Studney and Kevin Murphy for "outstanding music and lyrics" for the song "Mary Jane/Mary Lane" from the Showtime musical Reefer Madness.

Highlights of the Creative Arts Awards will be aired by E! Entertainment Television at 7 p.m. Eastern/Pacific Saturday, Sept. 17, with comedian George Lopez as host. CBS will televise the live prime-time Emmy show on Sunday, Sept. 18, also at the Shrine.

back to top
Past Features

Music Emmy Nominees Announced

First-timers and veterans share spotlight for 67th annual awards

Back to the Future – Live at the Hollywood Bowl

Silvestri score performed by L.A. Phil to cheering crowd

James Horner: An Appreciation

Titanic composer mourned, remembered, eulogized

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra Celebrates Walt Disney Animation

Mark Watters conducts classic toons live-to-picture for sold-out fundraiser at historic movie palace

Robert Drasnin: An Appreciation

Veteran TV composer left musical legacy for the boomer generation

Alexandre Desplat Receives BMI Icon Award

Disney exec Chris Montan also honored at Film-TV Awards

Arranger-Composer-Bandleader Van Alexander Turns 100

"A-Tisket, A-Tasket" writer honored by friends, family, colleagues

"The Other" Ray Charles: An Appreciation

Beloved choral director, vocal arranger dead at 96

Elliot Goldenthal Receives ASCAP Founders Award

Shirley Walker Award presented to Deborah Lurie

Emmy-winning Music Director Ian Fraser Remembered

Julie Andrews, John Williams, Leslie Bricusse pay tribute to close friend, colleague

Andrea Morricone in Concert

Italian maestro to conduct orchestra, choirs in Santa Monica

MONTAGE: Great film composers and the piano

Pianist Gloria Cheng presents new solo works by Williams, Broughton, Desplat, Newman, Davis and Giacchino


Rota's award-winning score will be conducted live to picture at L.A.'s Nokia

Feature Archives
>2016 Archive

>2015 Archive

>2014 Archive

>2013 Archive

>2012 Archive

>2011 Archive

>2010 Archive

>2009 Archive

>2008 Archive

>2007 Archive

>2006 Archive

>2005 Archive

>2004 Archive

>2003 Archive

>All Archives

Home Copyright © 2002-15 The Film Music Society, all rights reserved.
About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Facebook