HomeNews Archive
About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Give Facebook
>Print this article  

August 21, 2006
Callery Wins Second Emmy
Zanelli, Shearmur Among First-time Honorees by Jon Burlingame

Sean Callery

Sean Callery

Geoff Zanelli

Geoff Zanelli

Edward Shearmur

Edward Shearmur

LOS ANGELES—Sean Callery now has Emmy bookends.

The 24 composer received his second Emmy Saturday night, Aug. 19, winning for "outstanding music composition for a series (original dramatic score)" for the "6 a.m.– 7 a.m." episode of the series from the 2005-06 season.

His was one of five music Emmy Awards handed out at the Shrine Auditorium during the four-hour Creative Arts Emmy ceremony. A two-hour condensation of the show will air Saturday, Aug. 26, on cable's E! Entertainment Television network.

This was Callery's fifth consecutive nomination for his music for Fox's 24. He previously won for his music for the 2002-03 season. He will return to both 24 and Medium in the fall, and add a third series, Shark, to his list of weekly music chores.

Geoff Zanelli won the Emmy in the category of "outstanding music composition for a miniseries, movie or a special (original dramatic score)" for his music for the acclaimed TNT miniseries Into the West.

He broke a winning streak for much-honored composer Bruce Broughton, who has won every time he has been nominated in that category over the past nine years. He was nominated, and won, in 1998, 2003, 2004 and 2005. This year's Broughton nomination was for a Lifetime movie, The Dive From Clausen's Pier.

Edward Shearmur, better known for his feature-film scores including The Wings of the Dove and Sky Captain & the World of Tomorrow, won on his first nomination, for "main title theme music" for Showtime's Masters of Horror series.

Broadway music director and conductor Paul Gemignani also won his first Emmy, for "outstanding music direction" on PBS's Great Performances special, South Pacific in Concert From Carnegie Hall.

And in the category of "outstanding original music and lyrics," composer Greg O'Connor and lyricist Jim Wise won their first Emmys for a song for Fox's MadTV, "A Wonderfully Normal Day."

©2006 Jon Burlingame
Photos courtesy of ATAS / Craig T. Mathew Imaging

back to top
Past Features

Morricone Wins Oscar Music Gold At Last

Bond song earns victory for Sam Smith, Jimmy Napes

Ray Colcord: An Appreciation

Prolific television composer left a legacy of public service

Pianist Annette Kaufman Dies

Widow, biographer of violinist Louis Kaufman was 101

Downton Abbey: The Ultimate Collection

John Lunn's Emmy-winning music released in 2-CD set

88th Annual Academy Award Nominations Announced

The Force Awakens Williams' 50th Oscar nom

Spotlight on Howard Shore's Score

Piano-driven chamber music propels journalism film

Feature Archives
>2016 Archive

>2015 Archive

>2014 Archive

>2013 Archive

>2012 Archive

>2011 Archive

>2010 Archive

>2009 Archive

>2008 Archive

>2007 Archive

>2006 Archive

>2005 Archive

>2004 Archive

>2003 Archive

>All Archives

Home Copyright © 2002-16 The Film Music Society, all rights reserved.
About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Facebook