HomeNews Archive
About the FMS News & Events Membership Merchandise Resources & Links Contact Give Facebook
>Print this article  

September 15, 2015
Beal Wins Emmy for House of Cards score
Portman, O'Halloran also win Emmys for music by Jon Burlingame

Jeff Beal, winner of the Emmy for outstanding music composition for the series <i>House of Cards</i>

Jeff Beal, winner of the Emmy for outstanding music composition for the series House of Cards
Photo by Vince Bucci/Invision for the Television Academy/AP Images

LOS ANGELES—Newcomers to the Emmy ranks dominated the music categories during Saturday night's presentation of the Creative Arts Emmy Awards at the Microsoft Theater at LA Live.

Aside from Jeff Beal, who won his fourth Prime-Time Emmy for his music for the Netflix series House of Cards, all of Saturday's winners were first-time Emmy recipients (and all but one of those won on their first nomination).

Beal's House of Cards win marked his first for that series. This was his fourth nomination for the acclaimed Kevin Spacey political drama, having been acknowledged for music in each of its three seasons plus his main title theme. (His previous wins were for the theme for Monk, and the scores for limited series The Company and Nightmares & Dreamscapes.)

British composer Rachel Portman won for her score for the HBO made-for-TV movie Bessie, based on the life of singer Bessie Smith; she was unable to attend the ceremony.

Dustin O'Halloran accepted the Emmy for his main title theme for the Amazon series Transparent; Greg Phillinganes, for his music direction of the CBS special Stevie Wonder: Songs in the Key of Life, an All-Star Grammy Salute; and Jim Roach and Kyle Dunningan won for their song "Girl You Don't Need Makeup" from Comedy Central's Inside Amy Schumer.

A condensed version of the Creative Arts Emmy show will air at 8 p.m. Eastern / Pacific on Saturday, Sept. 19, on FXX; the entire show can be seen at 12 noon Sunday, Sept. 20 online at emmys.com.

©2015 Jon Burlingame
Help preserve the legacy of film and television music by supporting The Film Music Society!
back to top
Past Features
Feature Archives
Error: DISTINCT YEAR query failed